It is located in the house of Count P. Yu. Syuzora (Syezdovskaya line 21). There were unique documents, drawings, photographs, household items, artwork, books, parts of dismantled or undergoing restructuring buildings in the museum. In 1912 the museum in 1457 totaled storage units in 1918 – 2865. Among them: a collection of architectural graphics Bartolomeo Francesco Rastrelli, Ch. Cameron, A. Zakharov, Jean – de F.Toma Tomona; 20 ancient carriages, 245 drawings and paintings Kvarengi; collection menu; Imperial Porcelain Factory, factories Kornilov and Batenin.
After the February Revolution of 1917, the museum, whose collections were moved to the Winter Palace, and then into the house Miatlev (Isaac’s Square, 9), closed.
In 1918, the Museum of the City was created, the museum of urban culture. It became one of the few museums of its kind in Europe and Russia XX century.
Anichkov Palace. Antechamber Playground section of landscape art museums. The museum occupies several buildings: Anichkov Palace, home of Countess N. F. Karlovoy (Fontanka River Embankment, 46) and the house Serebryannikova (Fontanka River Embankment, 35). Basis of his collections were the exhibits several museums and exhibitions.
The rights of an independent department in the Museum of the City entered the Museum of Old Petersburg. In the years 1918 – 1928 the director of the City Museum was L. A. Ilin known architect, architectural historian, one of the founders of the theory and practice of Soviet city planning, the chief architect of Leningrad (1925 – 1938), who led the development of a master plan for the city. Mansion Countess NF Charles. Playground. The interior of housing. 1928
Thanks to the efforts Ilina Museum of the City has become a major scientific and educational center of Petrograd – Leningrad 1920.
In 1928, the Museum of the City liquidated. Items from his collection were other Russian museums and abroad. January 23, 1929 the Soviet government decided on measures to enhance exports and sales abroad of antiquities and art. All – Russian export fund got many unique exhibits of the Museum of the City library Duke G. G. Meklenburg – Strelitz.
Museum of Old Petersburg house Serebryannikova Room VIII (Arch. Felten. 1770 – 1803). 1920s. valuable collection of works of arts and crafts from the mansion of the Countess N. F. Karlovoy, property Scope of pantry Anichkova Palace and other items. However, part of the exhibits of the Museum of the City and to this day is in the State Museum of the History of St. Petersburg.
In 1938 was founded the Museum of History and Development of Leningrad, in a mansion Rumyantsev. Here were transferred to some preserved collections of the Museum of the City. In 1954, the museum was renamed Leningrad State Museum of History, compiled of the complex of buildings of Petropavlovskoy Fortress :Peter and Paul Cathedral, Velikoknyazheskaya tomb, Botnia house, Troubetzkoy and Zotov bastions.
In 1993, after his return to Leningrad historical name, the museum was named the State Museum of History of St. Petersburg.